Speight, Van Nostrand & Gibson Limited
Ontario Land Surveyors
On April 15, 1885, Thomas
Bailey Speight and Colonel A.J. Van Nostrand, entered into a partnership, under
the firm name of Speight Van Nostrand.
The firm moved aggressively,
opening lands in Northern and Southern Ontario.
Over thirty Township Base Line and Meridian Surveys were performed between 1885
Both men took an
active role with the development of the Land Surveyor’s Professional Association, organized in
1886, incorporated in 1892.
Colonel Van Nostrand was
elected President in 1908, and Thomas Speight, President in 1912.
In 1903, the firm expanded
with the addition of A.T. Ward and by 1919, the partnership would include John
Van Nostrand and R.M. Anderson.
In 1936, after practicing
for 50 years the 2 senior partners retired.
In that time, the firm had developed a reputation of uncompromising
integrity and leadership in the Survey field.
To this point 30 students had Articled under this firm.
The firm continued to expand
its endeavors, being involved in some of Canada’s largest real estate
projects, including the development of the Home Smith Project and the Toronto
Dominion Tower Project.
In 1972, the two companies,
Speight Van Nostrand Anderson and Currie and W.S. Gibson & Sons Limited,
joined together to practice under the name Speight, Van Nostrand Ltd. and W.S.
Gibson & Sons Ltd.
In January 1991, the name
was changed to Speight, Van Nostrand & Gibson Limited. The firm has kept abreast with ever changing
technology and survey advancement and continues to be a corner stone in the
survey profession. With the combined resources
and experience of these two firms being retained, they shall continue to
serve the needs of Ontario.